Caña Brava y mi Bohio

Saw this really cool house on Isla Cañas made of caña brava poles and I thought wow! I want that at my place. Today Ninin and I went out into the jungle to cut poles and start fabricating the walls for my bbq and smoker bohio. This stuff is hard and I ruined my machete, plus they are covered in sharp, black spines that will do real damage. That is the “brava” part. (Mad in spanish) Halfway into the party the monsoon started so I only cut 16 poles, but they are beauties. I will keep you posted as I cut more and get some of these walls done. I am building the bohio in 8 foot sections so I can just keep adding on as I want.

Saludos from 7.35 Degrees North

Leave a Reply

